GWMC completes delimitation of wards

Published by Dinesh C Sharma on July 09, 2015 01:01:07 AM
Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation


The process of delimitation was completed in Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation (GWMC) by means of approving the delimitation of municipal wards under the corporation. The Municipal Administration and Urban Development Department has issued a GO Ms No. 79 ratifying a proposal submitted by Warangal Municipal Corporation authorities towards delimitation of the corporation limits into 58 divisions.

Suggestions and objections from the general public were invited on August 10 2014 by giving seven days time

The proposal for delimitation of the corporation wards as per GO Ms No. 122 was submitted on May 17, 2014 and rules relating to delimitation of wards were issued with reference to the GO Ms No. 570 of 1996. Suggestions and objections from the general public were invited on August 10 2014 by giving seven days time. In response to the same 152 suggestions and objections were received from the public of which seven were set to be reasonable were considered while others were rejected.

Notably, Warangal, one of the oldest municipalities in the State comprises of 3 cities Warangal, Hanamkonda and Kazipet, was declared an urban area in 1901. Later, it was upgraded to Special Grade Municipality in 1959 and as Selection Grade Municipality in July 1960, and made major municipality in 1984, and declared a Municipal Corporation on August 8, 1994 with 53 wards. As per the 2011 census, the population of Warangal city is 7.59 lakhs.

Despite being the capital of Kakatiya empire, Warangal lagged behind in development due to lack of funds. Central government funds under JNNURM could not start as the population was less than required at 10 lakhs. Though the GO Ms No. 99 was issued recently, the corporation was made Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation following the merger of 42 villages of six mandals surrounding the district head quarters and population was increased to 8.2 lakhs.