Aditya, Surya emerge champs

Published by Metro India News on January 11, 2016 00:21:25 AM

SSV Aditya and K Hima Surya won titles in the open and juniors categories respectively in the 116th Brilliant Trophy Open Chess tourney at Brilliant Grammar School, Dilshuknagar on Sunday.

In open category, Aditya from Gitanjali Devashray School scored 5.5 points from six rounds to take the top honours while MY Raju and Shanmukha Teja finished second and third respectively with five points.

In the junior’s category, K Hima Surya of Niraj Public School scored six points from six rounds to finish top. Bharat Kumar finished second place with 5.5 points. R Abhiram ended in the third spot with 5 points.

Results: Open category: Top Five Placings: 1. SSV Aditya, 2. MY Raju, 3. Shanmukha Teja, 4. Chandrasekhar, 5. SK Brahmam; Juniors category: K Hima Surya (6) bt S Tarun (5), J Bharat Kumar (5.5) bt D Siddarth (4), P Aasrithram (5) bt Praneetha Priya (4), D Sri Harsha (4) lost to R Abhinav (5), M Nikhil (4) lost to E Himesh (5).